Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven
Classical and jazz pianist, composer, improviser
 
 
       
 

"This marvellous piano-doublebass duo flows from an alchemy of righteousness. Rarely has such cohesion been achieved, except by the great classical masters of the field: Duke Ellington and Jimmy Blanton, Bill Evans et Scott LaFaro. The play of parallels leads to a work of incomparable depth, born in an atmosphere of inner contemplation.” 12/03/2008 Marc Danval, Le Soir Magazine

“...Whereas the playing of Collard-Neven is nothing but subtlety, the unswerving rhytmic basis and the heartwarming sound of Rassinfosse’s doublebass give it an incredibly reassuring almost physical presence. In a nutshell, one feels good when listening to this music, and that is something”
*** JAZZMAN

“They had recorded “Regency’s Nights” in the fall of 2006, here they are – the veteran jazzman and the classical defector- in a second even more atypical album, reaching farther afield into each musician’s core and relying all the more on friendship’s intuitions in order to create a common musical language.(...)
** La Libre Belgique

“The encounter between a doublebass jazz player and a classical pianist produces gems. This second harvest draws attention to Collard-Neven’s talent as a composer and tightens the duo’s bonds with its classical influences (...) Elegance, tenderness and smiles bring sparks into this intimate dialogue.”
*** Le Soir

 
 



Three o'clock in the morning, the main hall of the conservatory is empty but bulging with microphones... All of sudden, a note breaks the oppressive silence... it comes from the huge black vessel opposite me, it is pur and crystalline, it invites me to follow, to complete it with other notes and my fingers start flying... Once again the magic works and I know why the dialogue starts up so easily and why I am sharing it with the man who produced that note, over there, at the very end of that interminable piano. It is this gentleness, this touch that ranges from skimming to fiery passion, this precision in both intention and musical gesture, this fresh, novel approach that finds an echo in me, that enables me to explore space and rediscover the alchemy of blending. This austere, angular, black piece of furniture, with its repeated mechanisms of such precision, snuggles up to this great lump of ebony and maple, and the conversation in sound strikes up between us through our instruments, and our music flows peacefully as from a fresh, inexhaustible spring. Silence, the indispensable partner of our musical exchanges, of these wonder-struck jousts it patiently waiting to cover up our final vibrations... Thank you, Jean-Philippe
, for these sparkling exchanges.

Jean-Louis Rassinfosse



The first notes I playede with Jean-Louis could have been the last: I was so intimidated to have next to me a grand gentleman of jazzz... And yet, I very quickly felt that we were about to live a great adventure. I had just escorted him back to the door when, within an hour, I composed the piece Merci: "merci" or "thank you" for thoses rare moments of spiritual and musical coming together. When we are on stage he is ther, by my side, like an oak, unmovable, he connects me to the source that is deepest within me and silently invites me to give of my best.

Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven

 

Two cd's on FUGA LIBERA label
Worldwide distribution

Regency's Nights (FUG 602)   Second Move (FUG 605)
   
Merci (C-Neven)
Regarde (C-Neven)
   
My Romance (Rodgers/Hart)
Ducky (C-Neven)
   
Song for my father (C-Neven)
Brahms, sonate n°1 pour clarinette op.120
(2e mvt)
   

They

Spider hands and ferret eyes, the tense posture of chronic raptus, a half-sitting half-floating position, the tendon on the qui vive, the ischia drilled, the breath held back even in the tiniest little wailing sounds stifled like so many battered synapses, here they are, two princes of sound, a duet of musical magi bringing into being that which before Them was not to be heard. It is because they are what they are and do what we hear that music is the art of all arts for propagating sensuality and delight, thrusting instantaneous roots into the very depths of each and every one of us. Fantastic inventors of what is passed over within the audible. Merlin-like magicians of what in sound is unheard of, sorcerers of sublimely indecent nocturnes, masked by the improbable, here they are, for a quick snapshot, jumping onto the tempo track, leaping virtuosos of their compositions, creating positions that are carried, bar by bar, on surging glissandos with gently devilish rhythms, masterly, giving to us without ever assuaging our thirst for airs. Nothing that has to do with strings escapes them or rather everything escapes from them by the grace of the gods who empty the world’s net of the insipid tunes from before Them and invigorate their own with light and shade, given as they are to all the globe. Here are four hands, four eyes and four hearts at least that, beating wildly, are not content with sighing to be reborn and let us hear the dream of no longer listening to the world other than through Them.

Pietro Pizzuti
Brussels, 21 JUNE 2007

 
VIDEOS
 
Regarde (C-Neven)
 
Prelude op.11 n°4 (Scriabin)
 
Merci (C-Neven)

Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven
Pianiste classique et jazz, compositeur, improvisateur
 
 
       
 

"Ce prodigieux duo piano-contrebasse, découle d'une alchimie de la rectitude. Rarement telle cohésion put être accomplie, si ce n'est dans les classiques de cette discipline, par des maîtres: Duke Ellington et Jimmy Blanton, Bill Evans et Scott LaFaro. Le jeu des parallèles aboutit à une oeuvre d'une incomparable densité, née dans un climat de recueillement."
12/03/2008 Marc Danval, Le Soir Magazine

“...Alors que le jeu de Collard-Neven n’est que délicatesse, l’assise rythmique inébranlable et la sonorité chaleureuse de la contrebasse de Rassinfosse lui confèrent une présence incroyablement rassurante, presque physique. Bref, on se sent bien en écoutant cette musique, et c’est déjà beaucoup.” *** JAZZMAN

“Ils avaient gravé “Regency’s Nights” à l’automne 2006, les voici – le jazzman chevronné et le transfuge classique- dans un deuxième album plus atypique encore, remontant plus haut à la source de chacun et comptant d’autant plus sur les intuitions de l’amitié pour inventer un langage musical commun. (...)” ** La Libre Belgique

“La rencontre entre un contrebassiste de jazz et un pianiste venu du classique produit des perles. Cette deuxième récolte retient l’attention sur les talents de compositeur de Collard-Neven et resserre les liens du duo avec ses influences classique (...) Elégance, tendresse et sourires font pétiller ce dialogue intimiste.” *** Le Soir

 
 

Echecs

Trois heures du matin, la grande salle du conservatoire est vide mais truffée de micros… Soudain une note brise le silence pesant… Elle vient de l’immense vaisseau noir face à moi, elle est pure et cristalline, elle m’invite à la suivre, à la compléter par d’autres et mes doigts s’envolent… Une fois de plus la magie agit et je sais pourquoi le dialogue s’installe si facilement et que je le partage avec celui qui vient de créer cette note, là-bas, tout au bout de ce piano interminable. C’est cette délicatesse, ce toucher qui va de l’effleurement jusqu'à la fougue, cette précision dans l’intention et le geste musical, ce discours frais et neuf qui trouve un écho en moi qui me permet d’explorer l’espace et de redécouvrir l’alchimie des mélanges. Cet austère et anguleux meuble noir, aux mécaniques identiques et si précises s’acoquine avec ce gros tas d’ébène et d’érable et la conversation sonore s’anime entre nous à travers nos instruments et notre musique en découle paisiblement comme d’une source fraîche et intarissable. Le silence partenaire indispensable de nos échanges sonores, de ces joutes émerveillées attend lentement de recouvrir nos dernières vibrations…Merci jean-Philippe pour ces éblouissants échanges
.
Jean-Louis Rassinfosse



Les premières notes que j’ai jouées avec Jean-Louis auraient pu être les dernières : j’étais si intimidé d’avoir à côté de moi un grand monsieur du jazz... Cependant, très vite j’ai eu la sensation que nous étions sur le point de vivre une grande aventure. A peine l’avais-je raccompagné la porte d’entrée, que j’ai composé, en une petite heure, le morceau Merci : merci pour ces moments privilégiés de rencontres spirituelles et musicales. Quand nous sommes sur scène, il est là, à côté de moi, comme un chêne, immuable, il me connecte à ma source la plus profonde et m’invite silencieusement à donner le meilleur de moi-même.
Jean-Philippe Collard-Neven


 

Deux albums chez FUGA LIBERA
Distribution mondiale

Regency's Nights (FUG 602)   Second Move (FUG 605)
   
Merci (C-Neven)
Regarde (C-Neven)
 
Le clan des siciliens (Ennio Morricone)

   
My Romance (Rodgers/Hart)
Ducky (C-Neven)
   
Song for my father (C-Neven)
Brahms, sonate n°1 pour clarinette op.120
(2e mvt)
   
Eux

Les mains araignées et l’œil furet, la tenue tendue de raptus chroniques, la posture mi-assise mi-flottante, le tendon aux aguets, les ischions drillés, le souffle mordu jusqu’aux infimes petits vagissements étouffés comme autant de synapses cognées, les voici, paire de princes du son, duo de mages musiciens mettant au monde ce qui avant Eux ne s’entendait. C’est parce qu’ils sont ce qu’ils sont et font ce qu’on entend que la musique est l’art parmi tous propageant sens et délices, plongeant racines instantanées au plus profond de nous. Sacrés inventeurs de ce qui est tu dans l’audible. Merlins de ce qui dans le son est inouï, enchanteurs de nocturnes sublimement indécents, masqués d’improbable, les voici, le temps d’un cliché, sautants sur la plage du tempo, rebondissants virtuoses de leurs compos, fabricants postures portées, mesure par mesure, en glissades déferlantes aux doux enfers du rythme, magistraux, nous donnant sans jamais étancher notre soif d’airs. Rien de ce qui est de la corde ne leur échappe ou plutôt la corde toute, par la grâce des dieux qui vident la nasse du monde des fades mélodies d’avant Eux et massent d’ombre et de lumière les leurs, données à toute la terre ronde. Voilà quatre mains, quatre yeux et quatre cœurs au moins qui, la chamade battue, ne se contentent du soupir pour renaître et donnent à entendre le rêve de ne plus écouter le monde que par Eux.

Pietro Pizzuti
Bruxelles 21 juin 2007
 
VIDEOS
 
Regarde (C-Neven)
 
Prelude op.11 n°4 (Scriabin)
 
Merci (C-Neven)